UNESCO World Heritage List


UNESCO - the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

The UNESCO was founded on 16 November 1945. For this specialized United Nations agency, it is not enough to build classrooms in devastated countries or to publish scientific breakthroughs. (...) UNESCO deploys its action in the fields of Education, Natural Sciences, Social and Human Sciences, Culture, Communication and Information.Preserving and respecting the specificity of each culture, while ensuring that it preserves and respects the specificities of another culture, and involving it in an approach that bring them together and extends beyond them in a more interactive and interdependent world, is the challenge which must be met by the international community and, on its behalf, by UNESCO and its partners.

UNESCO’s cultural priorities:
Promoting cultural diversity, with special emphasis on the tangible and intangible heritage
Cultural policies as well as intercultural and interfaith dialogue and understanding
Cultural industries and artistic expressions.
(Source: Internet Portal of UNESCO)

(Text Source: From the Internet Portal of UNESCO World Heritage)

UNESCO - World Heritage List

Heritage is our legacy from the past, what we live with today, and what we pass on to future generations. Our cultural and natural heritage are both irreplaceable sources of life and inspiration. Places as unique and diverse as the wilds of East Africa’s Serengeti, the Pyramids of Egypt, the Great Barrier Reef in Australia and the Baroque cathedrals of Latin America make up our world’s heritage. What makes the concept of World Heritage exceptional is its universal application. World Heritage sites belong to all the peoples of the world, irrespective of the territory on which they are located. The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This is embodied in an international treaty called the Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, adopted by UNESCO in 1972.

The World Heritage List includes 878 properties forming part of the cultural and natural heritage which the World Heritage Committee considers as having outstanding universal value. These include 679 cultural , 174 natural and 25 mixed properties in 145 States Parties. As of November 2007, 185 States Parties have ratified the World Heritage Convention. More...


Göreme National Park and the Rock Sites of Cappadocia (1985)
Great Mosque and Hospital of Divriği (1985)
Historic Areas of Istanbul (1985)
Hattusha: the Hittite Capital (1986)
Nemrut Dağ (1987)
Hierapolis-Pamukkale (1988)
Xanthos-Letoon (1988)
City of Safranbolu (1994)
Archaeological Site of Troy (1998)

Göreme National Park and the Rock Sites of Cappadocia / Brief Description:

In a spectacular landscape, entirely sculpted by erosion, the Göreme valley and its surroundings contain rock-hewn sanctuaries that provide unique evidence of Byzantine art in the post-Iconoclastic period. Dwellings, troglodyte villages and underground towns – the remains of a traditional human habitat dating back to the 4th century – can also be seen there.